Posted by: CarolAnn | August 6, 2011

The Bare Necessities

I was debating on today’s blog topic…  so I chose a number of them.

In politics, there was the whole raising the debt ceiling event this past week (which to my knowledge has never been an issue before), that literally made me queasy to my stomach; and of course China had to chime in with its own snide remarks on that silly credit rating thing – you know that thing that lets us continue to maintain our status in the world. Then there was the hurricane that kind of just fizzled out in the Atlantic Ocean. But storm watchers should not despair, it has a 70 percent chance of reforming if conditions prevail. Of course the unbearable heat wave continues to endure in Texas and across the United States putting us all to the challenge. But hey…there’s more important news like celebrity news: Lucille Ball would have turned 100 years old this year and good news for all NFL fans, the lockout ended so I guess you will get to watch your favorite sport team on pay-satellite or cable this year. And life is good in the neighborhood. Huh?

So back to the bare necessities. This past week, I really should have kept a diary of my life. It was quite interesting to say the least. I learned a couple of things about the corporate world. A) things are not always what they seem, and B) things are not always what they seem. I also learned that having a cooperative team is essential and is half the fun of making things work effectively in ANY occupational setting. Either you show up or you do not. Your heart has got to be in the work that you do. If you love your job, you will never work a day in your life. And the productivity that you demonstrate is the example of that craftsmanship and sincerity. Why go to work with the attitude that the only reason you are going there is to punch a clock? If you are a floor sweeper, be the best damned floor sweeper money can buy. Love it and have an attitude of gratitude. Show the world that no matter what job it is that you are doing, you are the best at it… and you can be better than the rest. The more you do and the better you are at it, the more that will be given to you. Period.

On second note, I learned that not all medicines are bad for you and not all medicines are good for you either. I was prescribed two new meds that were supposed to help alleviate a number of symptoms I have been experiencing lately. One of the medications has worked tremendously. Phenomenally, I must say. Then there is the other one. I say that in a condescending way. The “other one” is supposed to be a heart-smart cholesterol-fighting drug that taught me a precious lesson in appreciating life. As some of you are aware, I have rheumatoid arthritis. Not a fun disease. But apparently, this autoimmune problem does not sit well with anti-cholesterol drugs. Within four days of taking the RX, I felt like every muscle in my body was literally being ripped out of my skin from the inside outward. The best part were the breathing difficulties. What a doozy that was! Not to mention the skin rash I broke out with. Humph! By Thursday, I figured if I took another one of those pills I would have been a goner. My doctor quickly took me off the pill. Maybe…just maybe there was a connection. Ya think?

A brand new day! The following day after work I was given a new lease on life. Really, I was. First I received a NEW set of eyes! Yes, I am a polished new nerd! I have a set of glasses that allow me to see the world like I have not seen in years. If I saw the ophthalmologist right now, I think I would give him a great big bear hug! I felt like a kid in a candy store. I could read road signs. Actual road signs and car tags. Wow! Amazing! Blades of grass were crisp. Leaves on trees were distinguished. I had been missing out on so much. Thank you, Dr. Pratt!

On cleaning… I also got a stark reminder why I literally loathe regular mops. I hate mops with the string-a-ma-jigs. They are messy. They pick up dog hair and they never ever release the dog hair no matter how many times you rinse the darn things. You can bleach them. You can wash them in the wash machine. But no matter what you do, the stupid things hold onto hair like there’s no tomorrow. Note to self: Buy another damn mop that works.

So after the whole nearly keeling-over event from the heart-smart drug, I recovered 5,000 percent the next day and joined old friends for a get together at a club in a nearby city. What a blast that was! Not only did I enjoy the great company, I was able to enjoy the super sounds of 80s hits from the Black Glass Band – a sure-fire winner in the high-stakes Hollywood climb to fame, and learned that even small no-name towns can have exciting entertainment like the Chuckwagon. Adding to the excitement was the fact that I got to dance with the man of my dreams! I could not have asked for a better ending to what turned out to being the worst and best week of my life.

The bare necessities…

In the end, I realized the most important lesson… We all want and need the basics in life: companionship, respect, honor, love, joy, wellness, financial stability and peace of mind. We want a balanced life – one where we can reap the rewards from the work that we put into it. One that we can sincerely call our own and own it. We want a clean environment in which we can live and thrive and not be ashamed to call home. Disney’s Baloo, was right… it’s just the bare necessities we need. It’s rather simple, I think. Don’t you agree?

The Bear Necessities

By CarolAnn Bailey-Lloyd – Social Media Sorceress on current events, social media, philosophy and more!

Copyright – ALL Rights Reserve


Leave a Reply

Categories

