Posted by: CarolAnn | December 13, 2010

So far away, or is it?

Did I ever mention how much I love the cover of “The River” by Sara McLaughlin?  In this winter song, McLaughlin magically sings how she wishes she had a river to skate away on. I sometimes feel that way. There is no more liberated feeling in the world than skating on the ice. When I am ice-skating (which is far and few between), I can breathe like I have never breathed before. And even though the rink is cold and usually filled with kids from two to 92, I feel free and as if I am the only one there. I let the ice take me away to a distant place in time. Like an eagle soaring high, I suddenly have wings that give me flight. It is such an amazing feeling.

And so I return to skating away on the river… wondering what my life would have been like had I taken a different path…perhaps taken another route way back in the day… and then there is this epiphany – a viola moment, where I know that no matter what I am doing, where I am going, how my sometimes physical challenges set me back a few steps… that even then, I am where I am supposed to be. Everything is as it should be. So yes…perhaps when I am skating on that proverbial river of the mind, and even physically on the ice, I am at that exact moment of where I am destined to be.

When I am not on the rink and I am instead working at my keyboard…or perhaps shopping for those last minute grocery items, or simply soaking in a hot tub trying to soothe my joints… I can still be on that river skating away to a distant time and place. Maybe that place is exactly where I am. Maybe that time is where I am in that moment…and maybe everything that I have ever imagined is precisely as it is intended to be.  Perhaps destiny is not a place, but more so, the journey that we experience along the way. I am ready to skate away on that river again.  Aren’t you?

In love and light

CarolAnn

Follow CarolAnnB on Google Buzz

So Far Away…or is it?

A philosophical article by CarolAnn Bailey-Lloyd – Social Media, Philosophy, Poetry, Politics and More

Copyright – ALL Rights Reserved

Sharing the song and video, “The River” by Sarah McLaughlin:

Leave a Reply

Categories

