Posted by: CarolAnn | November 15, 2010

Because Energy Never Dies

I have learned throughout my life that things are just the way they are sometimes. We do not always anticipate events as they unfold…birth, death and all things emotional that often bring us to our knees. For some of us, that gesture is self-fulfilling. Some fall upon their knees in prayer (as I have done so many times in the past) while others simply fall to their knees in sorrow or defeat. I believe it is innate to the human condition to lower oneself into submissiveness – giving into the emotions. It is a way to physically confront many of the trials and tribulations that we encounter in life. Of course that is not true for all people. Some individuals lash out at others to release tension and grief; but that is the minority. But this is not at all what this article is about…okay, not entirely anyway…

I have struggled long and hard to envision just who “God” is. And I had an epiphany … rather, a silent realization, that “God” is not a “who”, but a “what”. What?! I was brought up in a “believing” family.  I do not want to say “religious” because that is not what we were. We were brought up Catholic, but not devoutly. Our military upbringing did not allow us to grow roots and assimilate with the religious sect other than the few times a year we may have had attended the base services. I presume that is part of what lead me on the path where I am today.  That, and watching my father die a long, grueling death.

It was not until weeks after my father passed away that I started to see the proverbial “writing on the wall”. I was not angry with “God”. There was not a whole lot I could have personally done to prevent my father’s imminent passing, nor could the “who” God. I also began reflecting on my life at that time…all the pets, family and friends I had lost, the many trials I had as a woman, a mother, a wife, a human being: physically, emotionally, mentally, financially and spiritually. Time and experience have certainly taken their toll on me. Life is what it is. We either roll with the punches and grow from them, or fall to the wayside defeated and beaten. There are only two choices. One will drive you insane, the other will make you tough as nails.

Now, here comes the hook, line and sinker: What if I told you that there was a way you could overcome all your misery, your strife, your sorrows, your foes, your fallacies, your physical and mental impairments and even crimes? What would you say to that? You would probably ask me:  Where is it, where can I get it, and how much does it cost? Well, if it were that simple we would all be floating on Valium, but that is not the specific fix  to what I am referring. But I am getting closer now to the point of my article. We all have problems. I do not care who you are, where you are from, from what family you are, your age, your sex, your race… we ALL have problems. We all have ways of dealing with those problems. But today, I am going to give you 9.5 billion reasons why organized religion is not the way and the light to the definitive God – nor is it the quick fix to overcoming your problems.

Earlier, I had mentioned the “who” god and the “what” God. The differences are quite vast. Believe me, it took me some time to finally understand those differences. And when I did, wow! What a feeling of peace and most of all, acceptance of it is what it is.

What exactly is the “who” God? The who god is the magical king that mankind has cunningly crafted in his image. He is the empirical wizard, who judges and rules with a mighty hand. He can give life and he can just as easily take it away. The “who” god is quite scary in my opinion. But that is the point of it all…paint a scary, tyrannical man, who if you promise to accept him as the Godper organized religion (from ALL religious factions) ALL of your problems will be resolved. Just ask and it will be given…perhaps. What makes the “who” god a fallacy is that man has created him for the sake of power, control and yes, even greed. The “who” god is the infinite bogey man…contrived to control and manipulate the masses. What better way to harvest souls for monetary gain?

Souls are needing saving and business is good! According to a recent report, marketing for religious publishing materials and products will reach $9.5 billion in 2010.  Additionally, the market for religious video games has expanded to an estimated 100 game developers. Imagine that! But that is just the marketing share and the bottom of the barrel. Now let’s move onto the huge money grab that is organized religion:  Currently, the First Amendment exempts churches, religious organizations and religious leaders from being charged income tax. (I’m in the wrong business!) The funny part of that is that the IRS states specifically that “net earnings may not inure to the benefit of any private individual or shareholder, and no substantial part of its activity may be attempting to influence legislation, etc.” But time and time again, we see that the so-called religious leaders and organizations do exactly that. Donations taken in at a Catholic parish level in 2003 were roughly eight billion dollars. That is a lot of BIG money…and just for one parish! If organized religion is intended to help the impoverished and teach the Good Book, then why are so many of the parishioners of churches in dire straits and revealing themselves to be hypocrites time and time again?

Einstein said: “Energy cannot be created or destroyed, it can only be changed from one form to another.”

So next comes the “what” God.  The what God is not mankind manifest. He is not a “he”…in fact, he is not a figure at all. He is symbolic, however. Symbolic of the energy that exists in each and every one of us. The positive and good nature of all living creatures. Energy, according to the scientific Laws of Thermodynamics has proven Einstein’s quote. Energy is the root of all living things, and it is the powerful source of love in its highest potential. It is toxic in the hands of a judgmental human being preying on the weak and meek. But there is no money to be made in the what God because the what God is free. He does not charge an entry fee, he does not ask for donations, he does not condemn; nor does he commend…but the what God is within us all. It is the good and beautiful soul in us that help our fellow man, that try to lead the altruistic life. The what God closely resembles Jesus, because it is what it is…and that is an energy that never dies but is always there for the good and growth of man. The rest, however, pay cash.

Because Energy Never Dies

OPED by CarolAnn Bailey-Lloyd – Social Media, Philosophy, Poetry and More

Copyright – ALL Rights Reserved

Responses

  1. I’ve just recently come to discerning the difference between the “what” and the “who” god–thank you for articulating this “epiphany” for me. Quite an announcement to make at Thanksgiving dinner this year. Pax

  2. 🙂 Not a problem. I think many of us feel the same way. We just haven’t been able to gather the courage to say what we think…especially around others who might easily condemn us for our thoughts. The nice thing is that this is absolutely liberating. I can believe in the *what* God and don’t have to feel guilty about being a believer any more. Thanks for your positive response.

  3. I LOVE your defining of the “what” God vs. the “who” God. I will probably take this principle on as a sort of mantra. I am an agnostic – relative to the “who” God but a staunch believer in the “what” God. However, since my goal is to bridge the gap between atheist, theist, and agnostic, I usually refrain from the caustic approach you have employed here. As one of my TFTDs (thought for the day) on Twitter said, “theists, atheists, and agnostics can ALL agree on the laws to be implemented while disagreeing on the nature of the lawgiver(s)”.

    I think that your insight is far too valuable to be allow it to be pushed aside simply because you tend to demean theists. I’m not saying that I disagree with your assertions. What I AM saying is that most “believers” would stop reading this article at “magical king”. But if the tone were “seemingly” magical king, the perception of fairness would be maintained and they would read on – and get the information you want them to have. Tone is everything when dealing with belief.

  4. Thx for your thoughtful feedback, Servant2all… I had deliberated for quite some time how to plug the magical king phrase.. I began to first write about the “what God” but then thought, no, I must first paint the “who God” for what organized business-religion had made him out to be –> in order to get the full affect and understanding of the “what God”. LOL… I am a believer of the “what God” because the what God is the true God, imho. 🙂

    The intention really was not to demean anyone, that I assure you. I have been a long-life believer and even a regular church patron up until a few years ago. My intention, however, was to shed the hard light on “organized religion” as a whole. I have seen how organized religious sects prey on those who have the least, the most destitute, and those willing to sell their souls for a quick fix…and it’s downright shameful in some cases.

    I don’t wish to hurt anyone’s feelings. Sometimes the tone must be strong in order to awaken those willing to lend an ear. After all, I have always been open minded…but it still took me nearly 20 years to discover what I’ve known all along. 🙂

    ❤ & Light —

  5. […] The busiest day of the year was November 16th with 116 views. The most popular post that day was Because Energy Never Dies. […]

  6. dear writer of this article.
    recite and repeat these wovels in a cycle of one hour before you go asleep.
    AE……AA……OO……AOO and speak out your problem looking toward sky till you realise that somebody is there who is listenig and solving you.

  7. Is this your main blog CA?

  8. Has always been. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

