Posted by: CarolAnn | September 14, 2010

Thanks Helen Keller

Have you ever had one of those days…

When you wake up and you just want to hit the reset button on your routine, your relationships, your finances, your health, your life?  Okay, maybe not all of those areas, but sometimes reality strikes you like a ton of bricks and it feels like the world is crashing in around you. Suddenly you can’t breathe.  You realize that you have woken up to a nightmare of a life and you can’t stand it one minute longer. What do you do? Do you crawl back into bed and pull the covers over your face?

Ever wonder what happened to that knight in shining armor who was supposed to come and rescue the damsel in distress? Or the fairy godmother, Mr. Miyagi, Genie or MacGyver who would get us out of a sticky situation? Wouldn’t it be nice if all we had to do to help better our lives was to hit a magic “reset button”? Who in the world can we turn to when we need a hero the most? Where is the magician who will orchestrate the change that we want to see and have in our lives? In reality, a magician, nor any fairy godmother has the ability to modify the course and wellness in our life.

We truly are at the mercy of our own doing and our own undoing. That occurred to me the other day when I was in the midst of a rheumatoid arthritis attack. I was barely schleping around, dragging my left foot as if it were more of a burden than a walking apparatus. Pain was punching through my achilles tendon like a dull, stabbing butter knife. To top it off, I’d bruised my left index finger doing something I shouldn’t have been doing and then the carpal tunnel in my right wrist decided to plague my day as well. Barely getting over the nasty flu I had last week, I was ready to crawl back into bed and just die. “God,” I said to myself, “where are you when I need you the most?” Where is my reset button, I pondered.

Helen Keller - image courtesy of Wikipedia

So there I was. Tired, hurting, wasting away and thinking of ways that I could just put an end to it all. Stop the pain. Stop the heartache. Stop the worry. And then I received an instant message on my cell.  It was one of those inspirational messaging services I had signed onto months ago. “Ding-a-ling-a-ling” Who the heck was messaging me, I thought. I wasn’t in a “messaging” kind of mood at all. But there I went and flipped up my cell and there was the message from Helen Keller: “Defeat is simply a signal to press onward.”  Do what?? Yes, I’ve been there before. Been in a wheelchair. Been told to “get used to it.” Couldn’t feel my legs. Couldn’t walk. Couldn’t run. And here I am. A living, walking miracle. And earlier in the day I was ready to throw in the towel. Ready to give up. And then here comes Helen Keller with a powerful note to me. Yes, I live with the pain and sometimes loss of feeling, but mostly I am alive. Mostly,  I am able to do things that others thought I had lost for good. So why do I need a reset button when I am perfectly capable of resetting my own mind and thoughts if I really want to? I digress. Helen Keller won the day for me. I won the day for me. And so I go on to survive another day, knowing that defeat is only a signal for me to press onward. Thanks Helen. Now I know what I have already known all along: I’m a survivor and survivors never quit.

Thanks Helen Keller

Copyright- ALL Rights Reserved

CarolAnn Bailey-Lloyd – Social Media and More

Responses

  1. Awesome post. I know exactly what you mean. Maybe I should sign up for those inspirational messages! I have medicall issues also (info in my blog) and it makes most days difficult. I have wished many of times for a reset button!

    Thanks for posting


Leave a Reply

Categories

