Posted by: CarolAnn | May 6, 2009

A Letter from Susie

Inspired by “Whoever finds this, I love you” by Mac Davis

A sickly, small girl ~ all by her lonesome
gathered a pen and some paper
She wrote three, little words upon a page
and sent it to the newspaper

‘I love you,’ it read, ‘I’d like you to visit,
I’m here, all alone.
I’d like you to come, I insist it,’
Love ~ Susie, from the Children’s Home

The child waited patiently ~ as time went by
she watched for the mail’s response
but day after day, to no avail
Little Susie cried an awful lot

Three weeks later, a letter came
‘Dear child, I’ll be there soon,
I’ll come with love and hope for you ~
on this Sunday afternoon.’

Susie smiled so proudly
and she let out a happy sigh
for she knew in her tender heart
she’d found a friend ‘cross the miles

Sunday came, she was dressed in white
little daisies in her hair
with lace drawn sandals and a cameo
Little Susie went to Church

She sat on the pew – listening attentively
Yet her heart was skipping loudly
Her eyes were wondering about the room
For her friend would be there shortly

As the sermon ended,
Susie took a breath
She searched the congregation
’til all had left

She stumbled slowly out the entrance
Let out the daisies in her hair
Placed her cameo in her pocket
Her friend had not come there

She sighed a little whimper
but she thought, ‘I’ll try again.’
She walked home and got some paper
And again, she wrote with pen

‘I love you,’ it said, ‘I’d like you to visit,’
I’m here all alone
I’d like you to come, I insist it.’
Love ~ Susie, from the Children’s Home

She laid down her pen, weary and sad
She drifted off to sleep on her little bed
There in her dream, a beautiful sight
It was her own, lovely mother…there to spend the night

‘I told you that I’d come
I watched you in there
I saw you wore my cameo
I saw the daisies in your hair’

‘Oh, how lovely you did look
with your satin white dress
and lace-drawn sandals…
I must say, I was impressed..’

Susie’s broken heart was cradled
by the mother she had lost
and when she opened her eyes
there, in Heaven, she was

Walking hand in hand
with her mother by her side
and in her mother’s hands
a note that she did write:
‘I love you,’ it read, ‘I’d like you to visit,
I’m here all alone,
You must come, I insist it.’
Love ~ Susie, from the Children’s Home

Copyright – ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
A Letter from Susie
by CarolAnn Bailey-Lloyd

Leave a Reply

Categories

